Hit and Run cases are probably the most difficult cases to prove and can have the most catastrophic consequences. Hit and Run incidents are where one driver makes the cold and calculated decision to leave the scene of an accident without stopping to see if someone has been hurt, or worse, killed. Of course, some hit and run drivers may be in shock immediately after an accident. Some are afraid of the consequences of their actions because they have been drinking, or maybe driving without insurance, or on a suspended license. Most cases, the individual has been in trouble with the law before.
No excuse is good enough and it is a crime to leave the scene of an accident. You see so many times on television where an innocent pedestrian or bicyclist was struck and killed by a hit and run driver and no witnesses to identify the vehicle or license plate. So then the questions becomes, who is going to pay the extensive medical expenses and time off work or sadly, who will pay for the funeral expenses for your loved one killed in the incident?
In the state of Utah, PIP coverage is a required element of all motor vehicle insurance policies. This coverage can be used to pay for your immediate medical expenses up to the limit of coverage. The minimum limit for this coverage is $3,000.00 and an ambulance ride and visit to the emergency room can exhaust your coverage quickly. Your next recourse is to make a UM or “uninsured motorist” claim against your own policy to cover all other expenses up to your available limits. Sometimes, these cases are not easy to prove and your insurance will have specific guidelines as to what qualifies as a “UM” claim.
Most Insurance companies require that you file a police report within 24 hours of the incident. Canvas the neighborhood for witnesses and check your car for any signs of paint transfer as this will be good solid evidence that a collision took place. Your UM coverage will reimburse you for any bills not paid through PIP and will compensate you for surgeries, future medical, loss of income, etc. up to the policy limit available. The minimum coverage for UM cases is $25,000 but we have seen in far too many cases that this is not enough money where you have sustained serious injuries especially in cases where surgery is required.
The last thing you want to deal with after an accident is worrying about medical expenses. By using the experienced Utah personal injury lawyers at William Rawlings & Associates, you can be certain that the proper procedures will be followed within the established time limits and that everything necessary will be done to get you the compensation you and your family need. We take all the stress and worry out of these types of claims allowing you to concentrate on the important matter of getting your life back on track.